Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Faculty Advancement Network

Main content start

The Faculty Advancement Network (FAN) is a new consortium of national research universities collaborating to advance diversity and inclusion in the American professoriate.

The consortium members are leaders in faculty affairs, advancement, development, diversity, and inclusion across twelve institutions who agree: realizing a diverse and inclusive professoriate is a systemic challenge that demands cooperative solutions. We are working across “silos” to identify collaborations of consequence that reimagine the norms, structures, policies, and programs that shape university cultures and the academic workforce.

FAN Leadership Institute Kick-Off Meeting attendees seated at tables in a large room listening to a speaker

Since 2020, FAN has hosted a number of Inclusive Leadership Workshops, open to all consortium members. In Fall 2022, FAN began hosting the Institute on Inquiry, Equity and Leadership in the Academic DepartmentMember institutions may nominate up to 5 department chairs or other senior academic leaders as Fellows to this institute.

Stanford's FAN Leadership Fellows for 2022-23 are:
Melissa Bondy, Chair of Epidemiology and Population Health, SOM
Pamela Hinds, Chair of Management Science and Engineering, SOE
Jonathan Payne, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment, SDSS

Stanford is a founding member of the Faculty Advancement Network. For more information please contact Susan Drange, associate vice provost, OFDDE and a member of FAN's Executive Committee.

Learn more about the Faculty Advancement Network