Skip to content Skip to navigation

Faculty Women's Forum Awards

The Faculty Women’s Forum Recognition Action Group created an awards program in 2020 to recognize faculty members who have gone out of their way to support women at Stanford. In 2021, the Committee sought nominations for the following awards:

  1. The FWF Inspiring Early Academic Career Award: This award will honor a pre-tenure faculty member, or academic staff member (e.g. assistant professor, associate professor not yet tenured, lecturer, instructor, research associate) who creates a culture of inclusion and belonging for students and trainees at all levels.
  2. The FWF Allyship Award: This award will recognize a faculty member with a strong track record of advancing an academic culture that supports equity and inclusion at Stanford, with particular positive impact for female faculty members and/or those from groups historically underrepresented at Stanford University.  
  3. The FWF Outstanding Sponsor Award: This award is for a faculty member who has consistently created opportunities for the academic advancement of women at Stanford. In contrast to the FWF Outstanding Leader Award, the FWF Outstanding Sponsor Award will recognize an individual without an explicit positional leadership role at Stanford who promotes and sponsors Stanford women students, postdoctoral fellows, research staff, and/or faculty for opportunities and advancement. Nomination statements should provide specific examples of actions the individual has taken, with nominations of both early career and midcareer faculty members encouraged. 
  4. The FWF Outstanding Leader Award: This award will recognize a faculty member who leads a Stanford department, school or independent laboratory, center, or institute, who has an outstanding record of developing a culture of inclusion and promotion of women faculty. Nomination statements needed to speak to the leader’s record of creating a culture where women faculty can thrive; nomination support from more than one faculty member is desired.
  5. The FWF Deborah Rhode Lifetime Achievement Award: The Faculty Women’s Forum, Stanford University and the academic community at large lost an amazing and fierce advocate for gender equity in the academy in early 2021. The FWF honors Professor Rhode’s legacy with a Lifetime Achievement award to recognize individuals who have dedicated their careers and used their influence to advance the status of academic women. A nominee for this award should be a very senior or an emerita faculty member who has spent at least a decade (but likely many more) in an academic role, through which the faculty member regularly and persistently has served as a recognized leader and an effective advocate for the advancement of women faculty, through scholarly work in research, teaching, service, programmatic development, and professional leadership.

(All faculty, including faculty emeriti/ae, instructors, lecturers, and clinician educators, are eligible for nomination. Members of the Faculty Women's Forum steering committee are not eligible for nomination until at least a full year after their term ends. Nominations from any Stanford affiliate are welcome (including students and alumni/ae).)

Questions? Email:

The FWF Steering Committee launched its inaugural awards program in 2020, recognizing two faculty members with the FWF Outstanding Sponsor Award and the FWF Outstanding Leader Award in a virtual celebration in early June 2020. Read more about them here. In 2021, the Steering Committee added four more awards; the winners were announced on June 10, followed by a virtual Awards Ceremony on June 14.

The Stanford Faculty Women's Forum (FWF), supported through the Office of Faculty Development, Diversity & Engagement, acts to enable all women faculty to thrive. Participation is open to all faculty members, regardless of gender identity, and the FWF seeks to engage in inclusive practices that recognize the intersectional identities of all faculty members. The FWF provides opportunities for faculty members from across the University to discuss shared interests, concerns, ideas, and to engage in action promoting greater faculty equity, inclusion, and success.